Royal Colombo Golf Club

The Lady Captain’s Cup

The Lady Captain’s Cup golf tournament, a premier board event for the ladies, was held on September 23rd and 25th at the Royal Colombo Golf Club. It was brought to a close on the evening of Saturday September 26th at the RCGC with an impressive awards ceremony that was most memorable.

RCGC wins Burdett Trophy and Puffin Cup

It was a narrow call for the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) who beat Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (NEGC) for the Burdett Trophy and the Puffin Cup (ladies), played at the Nuwara Eliya Golf Course during the first weekend of November.

This is the 107th encounter between these two great clubs and RCGC won the Burdett Trophy by just one point.

The ladies tournament for the Puffin Cup was also won by RCGC by one point. The results were decided with rounds of foursome and singles events.

The prestigious Burdett Trophy men’s tournament saw the two sides equal (2-all) in the foursomes event. Lal Dias and Sheron Fernando of RCGC beat Alain Gyi and Glen Mathew 4/2. Bandula Weerasinghe and Shamal Perera gave RCGC a clear lead beating Stewart Ritchie and Sidath Wettimuny 4/2 in the second match.

However, NEGC came back winning the next two games. Nimal Wettimuny and Sarath Piyaratne of NEGC beat Lalin Samarawickrema and Kushan Johnpillai 5/3. Later, K. Prabhagaran and Y.S. Yim beat Lalin Senadhira and S. Vairavanathan 3/2 to square the event. However, the Burdett singles event saw RCGC win 4½ to 3½ points to take the trophy. Sheron Fernando, Bandula Weerasinghe, Shamal Perera and Mangala Niyarepola won for RCGC. Zen Dharmaratne, Stewart Ritchie and K. Prabhagaran won their matches for NEGC. S. Vairavanathan and Y.S. Yim held their match to a tie.

The Puffin foursome event for lady golfers saw the two teams all square with two wins each.

Suwaneetha Selvaratnam and Margot Sellayah of RCGC beat Usha de Silva and Rohina Johnston 4/2 while Manori Jayakody and Chris Benjamin of RCGC beat Anusha Senadhira and Sharma Perera 3/2.

Danushi Senadhira and Heather Ritchie of NEGC beat Shayanika Fernando and Suni Nirmalalingam 2/1 while Niloo Jayathilake and Nadine Jayaratne on NEGC trounced J. S. Kim Choo and Fran de Mel 9/7 to square the event.

However RCGC won the singles event by 2½ points to 1½ points. H.R. Bang and Shayanika Fernando of RCGC won their matches while Niloo Jayatillake won for NEGC. S. Serlvaratnam and Usha de Silva halved their match.

RCGC also won the 125th Anniversary Trophy by seven matches to five in the Four-Ball match-play event.

The inaugural Master’s Trophy event was tied 2-all by the two teams.